Church Leadership

“Anyone who wants to serve me must follow me, because my servants must be where I am. And the Father will honor anyone who serves me.”

John 12:26 

First United Methodist Church – Nominations Report

For service beginning or continuing on January 1, 2022.
Updated on January 19, 2022

To learn about the various church committees and their role in serving the church, read our FUMC Committees summary.



Administrative Board Officers


Chair: Brandon Crisp
Vice Chair: Jennifer Bevel
Secretary: Merry Rightmer
Treasurer: Mark Hamre




Executive Team (ex officio members of Ad. Board)


Brandon Crisp (Chair)
Jennifer Bevel (Vice Chair)
Cindy Walter (Past Chair)
Dan Kilday (SPRC)
Judy Kostura (Finance)
Ed Berger (Trustee)
Rev. Taylor Fuerst (Senior Pastor)




Coordinating Team (ex officio members of Ad. Board)


Board of Trustees Chair: Ed Berger
Staff-Parish Relations Committee Chair: Dan Kilday
Finance Chair: Judy Kostura
Youth Ministry Chair: Leslie Ivey
Children’s Ministry Chair: Meredith Wooderson
Adult Discipleship Chair: Pete Meeker
Communications/Marketing: Anthony Gutierrez
Congregational Care Chair: Judy Breckbill
Connections Chair: Trevor Harper
Mercy and Justice Chair: Becca Edwards
UMW President: Patricia Kenrick
Pastors: Taylor Fuerst, Cathy Stone, Brad King; Program Staff: Devon Bailey, Emily Buchanan, Lara Greene, Rachel Wright



Administrative Board


The Administrative Board is empowered to elect to office any vacancies in this report or that may occur in the course of the year.

Board Officers
Chair: Brandon Crisp
Vice Chair: Jennifer Bevel
Treasurer: Mark Hamre
Secretary: Merry Rightmer

Rev. Taylor Fuerst
Rev. Cathy Stone


Committee Chairs
Judy Breckbill
Brandon Crisp
Davis Covin
Becca Edwards
Anthony Gutierrez
Trevor Harper
Leslie Ivey
Patricia Kenrick
Dan Kilday
Judy Kostura
Pete Meeker
Meredith Wooderson
Ed Berger

Staff (Ex-Officio, Voice, No Vote)
Devon Bailey
Emily Buchanan
Scott Davis
Lara Greene
Brad King
Marcia Houston
Mark Steves
Rachel Wright




Members at Large

Class of 2022
Noble Doss
Chris Story
Lucius Bunton
Katie Kaighin
Stephen Billiot
Mary John Coats
Anna Holland
Anthony Holland


Class of 2023

Haley Mills
Danielle Thoma
Dave Tovar
Karen Janes
Adam Wooderson
Dixie Houston
Jennifer Bevel
Monica Choi
Scott Wilder


Class of 2024
Steve Tackett
Rick Russell
Tom Calnan
Amy Monkman
Christie Wilson
Sharon Bayliss
Melissa Biegert
Hunter Biegert
Dustin Goss
Amanda Cripe


Brooks Schuelke, District Lay Leader




Appointed Clergy 


Senior Pastor – Taylor Fuerst
Associate Pastor – Cathy Stone
Associate Pastor – Brad King
All other FUMC Staff (ex-officio with voice, but no vote)




Staff-Parish Relations Committee


Chair: Dan Kilday; Staff: Rev. Taylor Fuerst
Ex-Officio: Cindy Walter, Administrative Board Chair/Representative; Sandy Wilder, Annual Conference Delegate
Staff: Rev. Taylor Fuerst


Mary Kathryn Kane
Stan Casey
Jon George
Alan Stephens
Becky Strandwitz
Annemarie Potts
Meridith Albright
Dan Kilday*




Annual Conference Delegates 


(3 for FUMC, plus 4 District Delegates)
Alternates: Sandy Wilder


Mike Etie
Janet Duke
Daviss King
Becca Edwards
Terri Purdy
Kaitlyn Mills
Thomas Mills







Finance Team


Chair: Judy Kostura
Staff: Rev. Taylor Fuerst, Kristen Thurman
Ex-Officio voting: Brandon Crisp, Administrative Board; Mark Hamre, Treasurer; Stewardship Chair; and representatives from SPRC, Trustees & Annual Conference Delegate


Carrie Conner
Tim Deithloff
Bert Greene
Lisa Pittman
Judy Kostura*
Leslie Story
Clay Daigle
Charlie Roth




Board of Trustees

Chair: Ed Berger
Staff:  Mark Steves, Emily Buchanan


Haley Rose
Tucker Thurman
Alison Binford
Tom Strandwitz
Catherine Waggoner
Ed Berger
Curtis Novinger
Emily George




First United Methodist Church Endowment Fund, Inc
Board of Directors


Members at Large
Mark Wilson (2022)
Glenn Karisch (2022)
Jim Kaighin (2023)
Lisa Owens (2023)
Kevin Waggoner* (2024)
Matt Purdy (2024)

Administrative Board Chair: Brandon Crisp
Finance Chair: Judy Kostura
Board of Trustees Chair: Ed Berger
Church Treasurer: Mark Hamre
Registered Agent: Kristen Thurman
Senior Pastor: Rev. Taylor Fuerst






Committee on Nominations & Leadership Development


Chair: Rev. Taylor Fuerst


Will Binford
Melanie Rush
Jane Bowen
Kaycee Crisp
Curt Shaw
Davis Covin
Jan Ashmos
Caroline Jones
Tom Ausley




Adult Discipleship Team


Chair:  Pete Meeker
Staff: Emily Buchanan


Deborah Wilder
Ellis Pittman
Curt Ashmos
Lucius Bunton
Curt Shaw
Amy Wink




Children Ministries Team


Chair: Meredith Wooderson
Staff: Lara Greene, Jen Seibel


Meredith Wooderson
Liz Kilday
Jane Bowen
Erin Scarth
Leslie Story
Cassie Gresham
Haley Rose




Youth Ministries Team


Chair: Leslie Ivey
Staff: Devon Bailey


Sarah Austin
Melanie Greene
Mark Steves
Adele Boerner (HS)
Molly Drazic
Tamra Golden
Rebecca Yohe
Monica Choi
Tim Deschner
Sam Blome (HS)
Hunter Biegert(HS)
Melissa Biegert




Mercy and Justice Team


Chair: Becca Edwards
Staff: Rev. Cathy Stone
District Mission Board Member: Becca Edwards


Davis Covin
Lisa Hildebrand
Daviss King
Shirley Derryberry
Cindy Walter
Sally Watkins
Judy Chambers
Terri Purdy
Caroline Jones
Keely Nugent
Randy Teich




Mercy and Justice Work Group Leaders:


Green Team – Caroline Jones
LGBTQ Ministries – TBD
Homelessness – Randy & Ann Teich
Anti-Racism – TBD




Connections Team


Chair: Trevor Harper; Staff: Amy Wink


Sharon Doss
Davis Covin
Ben Patterson
Rick Ortiz
Alice Parrish
Robbie Cripe
Laura Velez




Communications /Marketing


Chair: Anthony Gutierrez; Staff: Rachel Wright


Keefe Boerner
Jackie Mader Archey
Laura Lee Daigle
Tony Gius
Mary Faye Randolph




Congregational Care Team


Chair: Judy Breckbill; Staff: Brad King
Staff: Dr. Brad King


Silver Link Ministry Team
Drive a Senior-West Austin
Hospital Visitation Team
Knit Wits Ministry
Comfort and Joy Ministry
Chair-Taylor Rush
Chair-Tom Ausley
Co-Chair-Jan Ashmos, Co-Chair-Amy Hurt
Chair-Carol Dickerson
Co-Chair-Virginia McCarroll, Co-Chair-Debbie Rippetoe




United Methodist Women


President-Patricia Kenrick
Vice President -Patricia Kenrick
Secretary- Becky Ratliff
Treasurer -Caroline Jones
Nominations -Emily George
At-large -Carol Brady


The Administrative Board is empowered to elect to office any vacancies in this report or that may occur in the course of the year.



FUM Preschool 2021-2022 Advisory Board


Samia Broadway (Chair)
Carly Criscoe (Treasurer)
Jane Bowen
Anthony Guitierrez
Katie Kaighin


Ex-Officio Members:
Rev. Cathy Stone
FUMC Dir. Of Finance
FUMC Dir. Of Children’s Ministries
FUMP Director
Erin Edge (FUMP Teacher)
FUMC Finance Committee Rep
FUMC Trustees Rep